• beMatrix
  • Teamwork
  • Willwork
  • 3D Exhibits
  • Color Reflections
  • EmployCo
  • 4Productions
  • EDPA

The International Association of Exhibitions and Events (IAEE) has announced this year’s recipients of the IAEE Individual Awards. IAEE’s awards program recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the exhibitions and events industry. The winners will be honored during Expo! Expo! IAEE’s Annual Meeting & Exhibition to be held December 6-8, 2011, in Las Vegas, Nev.

The Chairman’s Award honors an individual whose assistance to the IAEE chairman has been meritorious. There is no open call or vote for this award, instead recommendations may only be put forward by the IAEE chairman and must be approved by the IAEE board of directors. Recipients are recognized for going above and beyond in their service to the IAEE Chairman by helping grow both national and international relationships.

This year’s honoree is president and CEO of Orlando/Orange County Convention & Visitors Bureau Inc., Gary Sain, for his dedication on the IAEE Board of Directors and his extraordinary efforts in raising the necessary funds to launch the IAEE Public Relations Campaign.

“Charged with developing a strategic campaign to promote the value of face-to-face events, the dedication of IAEE’s Public Relations Task Force members to their mission has been remarkable,” said Vinnie Polito, IAEE Chairman. “In turn, the campaign’s successful implementation was wholly dependent on having sufficient capital for skillful execution, and Gary’s quick, enthusiastic and steadfast efforts will now make it possible.”

The remaining award winners were chosen after careful consideration and review by the IAEE Awards Committee and the IAEE Board of Directors, following an open call for nominations earlier in the year.

“The awards committee reviewed several excellent candidates and is proud to honor these individuals, as they represent the best of the industry,” said Brian Monroe, 2011 IAEE Awards Committee Chairman. “I also congratulate those who put forth the time and effort to submit nominations and recognize the efforts of their fellow industry members.”

The following outstanding individuals were selected for recognition:

The Merit Award recognizes those whose ideas and/or work have benefited IAEE as an organization in some special way and is generally reserved for those who have stepped forward at the chapter/local level. This year’s recipients are Barry Brown, CEM, national sales manager at Freeman and Barbara Stroup.

The Educator of the Year Award honors IAEE members who possess outstanding creativity, a positive attitude and the ability to transfer knowledge through good communication skills and innovative teaching to promote life-long learning to exhibitions and events industry professionals. This year’s recipient is Bob Dallmeyer, CEM, president of RD International.

The Committee/Task Force Volunteer of the Year Award honors an individual who has dedicated his or her time to the progress and fulfillment of the charge of a committee or task force on which he or she serves. This year’s recipient is Julie Nelson, account executive at Convention Data Services Inc.

The Outstanding Achievement in Marketing & Sales Award recognizes outstanding achievement by show management in marketing and sales activities such as total event revenue and profit, attendance, exhibit space sales, advertising revenue and sponsorship revenue. Merit is based on achievement of defined objectives, including measurable comparable metrics. This year’s winner is Lenny Heymann, executive vice president and group general manager at UBM TechWech.

The Young Professional of the Year Award made its debut this year, honoring individuals in the exhibitions and events industry 40 years of age or younger. The award recognizes excellent professional performance by someone who has committed his/her time to advancing the standing of young professionals in our industry. This year’s recipients are Greg McCormack, CEM, account manager at The Expo Group and Julie Pazina, national sales manager for Edlen Electrical Exhibition Services.

For more information about the IAEE Individual Awards, visit www.iaee.com/awards.

  • ETA Transportation
  • Hill and Partners
  • Momentum Management
  • Last Minute Venues
Real Time Web Analytics