July 23, 2024 7:38 AM
Close this search box.
Share this post:

IAEE welcomes new board members



Chris Meyer, vice president of sales for the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority

The International Association of Exhibitions and Events (IAEE) announced in December the results 2009’s election to its board of directors. The gavel was passed to incoming chair Chris Meyer, CEM, CMP, vice president of sales for the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA). He will serve through 2010.

Meyer has been in the exhibitions and events industry since 1984. He has extensive experience in the hotel, meetings and sales area. Prior to joining LVCVA, he held numerous sales and marketing management positions with multiple hotels, resorts and casinos in Las Vegas. He is a 1984 graduate of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas where he majored in Business Administration / Management Information Systems. He also is involved in MPI, Las Vegas Hospitality Association, Destination Marketing Association International and the Las Vegas SKAL Club.

“The coming year is going to be critical for the convention industry and IAEE,” Meyer said. “We must continue to build on the solidarity that has developed in the industry in response to the challenges of the past year. We have to continue to communicate the importance and value of face-to-face meetings and the impact our industry has on company bottom lines and the economy as a whole. We are seeing positive signs about the future of the industry, but we must continue to work hard to maintain our reputation and value to corporate America.”

New to the IAEE board of directors in 2010 John Galante, president of AE Ventures; Tony Lee, vice president of meetings and expositions for the Craft and Hobby Association; and Ryan Strowger, CEM, director of business development for the Consumer Electronics Association/CES. Joe Popolo, CEO of Freeman and David Weil, CAE, senior director at SmithBucklin Corporation have been re-elected to serve an additional three-year term.

Other members of the IAEE board of directors are Chairman-Elect Vincent Polito, managing director of VP International; Secretary/Treasurer Robert Kolinek, CEM, CMP, president and CEO of Helen Brett Enterprises Inc.; Immediate Past Chair Margaret Pederson, president of Amirexx LLC; Doreen Biela, CEM, senior planner of meetings and events for McDonald’s Corporation; David Boon, director of commercial and international affairs for Brussels Expo; Jack Buttine, president of Buttine Exhibition Insurance; Brian Casey, CEM, president and CEO of the High Point Market Authority; Jonathan “Skip” Cox, president of Exhibit Surveys, Inc; Jennifer Hoff, CEM, president of events for National Trade Productions, Inc.; Jo-Anne Kelleway, CEO of Info Salons International Pty Ltd; Jim Kelley, corporate director of Sales for ICAT Logistics; Jason McGraw, senior vice president of expositions for INFOCOMM International; Priscilla Phillips, Pat Phillips Productions LLC; and Jeffrey Quade, executive vice president of sales and marketing for GES Exposition Services.

The IAEE Board also includes ex-officio members Carrie Freeman Parsons, vice chair of Freeman, representing the Center for Exhibition Industry Research; Robert Kolinek, CEM, CMP representing the Exhibition Industry Foundation; Edward Liu, managing director for CEMS and chairman of the IAEE Asia Exhibition Council; Paul Schweitzer, vice president of business development for Marketplace Events representing the IAEE Public Events Council; John Mikstay, CEM, manager of events audits at BPA Worldwide, representing the IAEE Robert L. Krakoff Future Leaders Institute, sponsored by Champion Exposition Services; Robert Dallmeyer, CEM representing the IAEE Services Council; and Steven Hacker, CAE, president of IAEE.

Members of IAEE’s Board of Directors are elected on an annual basis by the official voting member of each IAEE member company. All officers serve a term of one year, except the secretary/treasurer who holds office for two years.

The directors are divided into three classes, as nearly equal in number as possible, each to serve three years in staggered terms to ensure continuity in the governance of the association.

Those interested in the new board members, or additional information on IAEE’s national and local efforts, can visit the Web site at www.iaee.com.


  • Superior Logistics

You Might Also Like:

Trending Now