• bematrix POP_banners
  • CORT
  • Superior Logistics
  • CORT
  • bematrix POP_banners
  • BusinessWise365 Ad Digital_
PCMA Honorees Martin Balogh Deborah Sexton
Share this post:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

PCMA To Honor Martin Balogh & Deborah Sexton

Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA) Southwest and Pacific Chapter is proud to honor hospitality and meetings industry champions, Martin Balogh and Deborah Sexton at the 2018 Industry Icon Awards, on October 15 at TAO at the Venetian Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. The event brings together hospitality, travel incentive and meeting professionals to celebrate the highly regarded honorees who have dedicated years to the industry.

As the associate director of the Meetings & Travel Group for the American Bar Association, Balogh has served on both the PCMA board of directors and the PCMA Foundation board of trustees. Balogh has helped define what the industry comes to expect from a true professional. He served the ABA for decades rising through the ranks to hold one of the top positions. Balogh is a role model to many outside of his organization. He exemplifies the importance of building balanced relationships between meeting organizers and the supplier community. He is consistent in holding his organization and staff to a high-level of ethical behavior while supporting them in being engaged in PCMA and giving back to the industry.

Sexton, principal of DLS & Associates and past president & CEO of PCMA, is a 30-year veteran of the meetings and conventions industry, and is routinely selected as one of the industry’s most powerful people by trade magazines. She has received numerous awards including the prestigious Asia-Pacific Incentives & Meetings Expo Outstanding Contribution Award, MPI’s Kathy Osterman Award and in 2008, she was inducted into the BizBash Chicago Hall of Fame. Sexton is passionate about stirring up positive change for meetings and hospitality industry programs in high schools and colleges. She is president of the PCMA Education Foundation and serves on advisory boards of the Rosen College of Hospitality Management at the University of Central Florida in Orlando and Kendall College, a Chicago institution focusing on hospitality management and the culinary arts.

“We are thrilled to recognize these two esteemed professionals whose contributions have been pivotal to so many people in the meetings and travel industry and beyond,” says Kevin Boland, president of the PCMA Southwest and Pacific Chapter. “This is our first year renaming the event the Industry Icon Awards. It’s only fitting that we are honoring two major icons in our business. Like many in the industry Deborah and Marty have shaped my career. Their dedication, ongoing participation and willingness to share their experience are a true inspiration to us all.”

The 2018 Industry Icon Awards reception begins at 4 p.m. at TAO at the Venetian in Las Vegas. Tickets are available for $150 before September 30 and $175 beginning October 1. Proceeds from this event will go towards PCMA Southwest and Pacific chapter programs, education and scholarships for industry professionals.

PCMA (Professional Convention Management Association) is a non-profit professional organization, with members in 35 countries, for people involved in the operation of conventions. PCMA has 17 chapters throughout the U.S., Canada and Mexico.  Headquartered in Chicago, PCMA has partners and collaborators around the globe and a footprint within North America, Europe, the Middle East and Asia, with activities across 37 countries. PCMA honors excellence throughout the global business meetings and events industry with distinguished honors throughout the year. For more info, visit www.pcma.org. To purchase tickets and learn more about the PCMA Southwest and Pacific Chapter Industry Icon Awards, visit http://southwest.pcma.org/

  • BREATHE Ad Digital

Related Stories

Trending Now

  • Employco
  • Natural Disaster Expo NDE
  • CVS - Creative Visual Solutions ClearEntry
  • GetInformed_
  • Brumark
  • Octanorm